No 5














1       Meeting of House

         The House met pursuant to adjournment.  The Speaker (Hon Peter Lewis) took the Chair and read prayers.


2       Petition No 9

         The Acting Clerk announced that the following Member had lodged a Petition for presentation:


Ms Bedford, from 20 residents of South Australia, requesting that the House support the passage of legislation to remove discriminatory provisions against same sex couples from South Australian legislation.


3       Papers

         The following Papers were tabled:


         By the Treasurer (Hon K O Foley) –

               Cost Pressures on the Incoming Government


          By the Minister for Consumer Affairs (Hon M J Atkinson) –

               Regulations under the following Acts –

                      Liquor Licensing Act – Dry Areas – Wattle Park

                      Trade Measurements Act –

                        Glass Measure



          By the Minister for Environment and Conservation (Hon J D Hill) –

            Aboriginal Lands Trust – Report 2000-2001


          By the Minister for Transport (Hon M J Wright) –

               Harbors and Navigation Act – Regulations - Time Extension.


4       Speaker's Statement – Ruling - Tabling of documents

The Speaker made a statement regarding the necessity for Ministers who quote from official documents to be prepared, if required, to table such documents and other related documents as may be necessary to ensure the quote is not out of context or unbalanced.

He advised that he would not require a Minister to table documents in a docket if tabling it is not in the public interest. Such was the case in the context of the document that was shown to the Speaker last evening by the Treasurer, since it contained things clearly not sensibly revealed and which would be clearly against the public interest had they been disclosed by tabling.


5       Speaker's Statement – Ruling – Reflection on the Speaker by Member for Bright

The Speaker made a further statement regarding allegations and reflections on his conduct by the Member for Bright (Hon W A Matthew) in the Address in Reply debate yesterday, which should only have been made by way of a substantive motion.


Member named

The Speaker named the Member for Bright for refusing to accept the authority of the Chair.

The Member made an explanation but refused to apologise.


On a point of order being raised, the Speaker ruled that he required the Honourable Member to make an apology.


Speaker’s ruling – disagreement to

Hon D C Brown moved – That the ruling of the Speaker be disagreed with as it is in conflict with Standing Order 139.

Debate ensued.


Motion withdrawn

Motion, by leave, withdrawn.


The Member having made further explanation;


The Minister for Government Enterprises (Hon P F Conlon) moved - That the explanation not be accepted.

Debate ensued.


         Question put

         House divided (No 1):


                       Ayes, 24


Hon M J Atkinson

Ms Bedford

Ms Breuer

Mr Caica

Hon K O Foley

Mrs Geraghty

Mr Hanna

Hon J D Hill

Hon S W Key

Mr Koutsantonis

Hon J D Lomax-Smith

Mr McEwen

Mr O'Brien

Ms Rankine

Hon M D Rann

Mr Rau

Mr Snelling

Hon L Stevens

Hon R B Such

Ms Thompson

Hon J W Weatherill

Hon P L White

Hon M J Wright

Hon P F Conlon (Teller)

        Noes, 20


Mr Brindal

Mr Brokenshire

Hon M R Buckby

Ms Chapman

Hon I F Evans

Mr Goldsworthy

Hon G M Gunn

Mrs Hall

Mr Hamilton-Smith

Hon R G Kerin

Hon D C Kotz

Hon W A Matthew

Dr McFetridge

Mr Meier

Mrs Penfold

Mrs Redmond

Mr Scalzi

Mr Venning

Mr Williams

Hon D C Brown (Teller)







         So it was resolved in the affirmative.


         The Member for Bright then withdrew from the Chamber.


Member suspended

Ordered – on motion of the Minister for Government Enterprises - That the Honourable Member for Bright be suspended from the service of the House.

Question put and passed.


6       Questions

         Questions without notice were asked.


7       Grievance debate

         The Speaker proposed - That the House note grievances.

         Debate ensued.

         Question put and passed.


8       Address in Reply

Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the question - That the Address be adopted.

         Debate resumed.

         Ordered, on motion of the Minister for Social Justice (Hon S W Key), that the debate be further adjourned until tomorrow.


9        Adjournment

         House adjourned at 6.00 pm until tomorrow at 2.00 pm.








            For Thursday 16 May 2002


Notice of Motion: Private Members Bills/ Committees/ Regulations


Ms Bedford to move – That she have leave to introduce a Bill for an Act to amend the Parliamentary Superannuation Act 1943, the Police Superannuation Act 1990, the Southern State Superannuation Act 1994 and the Superannuation Act 1988.



Notices of Motion: Other Motions


Ms Rankine to move – That this House congratulates the South Australian Country Fire Service volunteers, the South Australian Metropolitan Fire Service officers and support staff for their magnificent effort in assisting the New South Wales community during the recent devastating fires.


Ms Ciccarello to move – That this House congratulates SA Sports Institute rowers Josephine Francou, Sally Causby, Amber Halliday and New South Wales Scholarship holder Catriona Roach for their victory in the Women’s Lightweight Quad Scull event at the 2001 World Rowing Championships in Switzerland.


Mr Koutsantonis to move – That this House congratulates South Australian athletes Tatiana Grigorieva, Viktor Chistiakov, Brooke Krueger, Liam Murphy and Brett Cartwright who have been selected to represent Australia in athletics at the 2002 Commonwealth Games.


The Minister for Recreation, Sport and Racing (Hon M J Wright) to move – That this House congratulates the Adelaide Pura Milk 36’ers for their outstanding victory in the 2002 National Basketball League Championships.


Mrs Geraghty to move – That this House congratulates South Australian netballers, Kathryn Harby-Williams, Jacqui Delaney, Alex Hodge, Peta Squire and Rebecca Sanders who have been selected to represent Australia in netball at the 2002 Commonwealth Games.



Thursday 30 May 2002


Notice of Motion


Hon M K Brindal to move – That this House establish a Standing Committee of this House on the River Murray.


Notices of Motion: Other Motions -


Mr Hamilton-Smith to move – That this House congratulates the Federal Government and the Minister for Small Business and Tourism, Hon Joe Hockey MP, on the launch of a Discussion Paper in Adelaide on 2 May 2002, which through industry consultation, is to lead to a White Paper and a final ten year plan to secure the future for the tourism industry in South Australia and across the nation.


Hon R L Brokenshire to move – That this House congratulates the South Australian community, business and the former Liberal Government for their efforts over the past eight years to reposition South Australia to presently be one of the strongest economies in Australia.






            Present during the day - All Members.






                                                                                                                                    Peter Lewis



David A Bridges