Establishment of Adelaide University

Committee Details

Joint Standing Orders
55th Parliament 03/05/2022 - Current
Reported 17 October 2023
  • Ms Alison Meeks
  • Miss Tonia Coulter
  • Mr David Pegram
  • Mr Shane Hilton
  • Mr Alistair Taylor
  • Ms Megan Fink

Committee Function

I. To inquire into and report on the establishment of Adelaide University, and in so doing consider –
(a) The proposal to create Adelaide University, to be formed by the amalgamation of the University of Adelaide and the University of South Australia;
(b) The expected impact (including non-commercially confidential modelling generated by the existing universities) of the new university, on:
i. the South Australian economy and society;
ii. current and future staff and students of the two existing universities; and
iii. the higher education sector in South Australia
(c) Ensuring Adelaide University’s legislative, governance and funding arrangements provide for a university that:
i. facilitates access to education by South Australians from a broad range of socio-economic and cultural backgrounds, including Aboriginal South Australians;
ii. is engaged with industry and business in South Australia on research and education outcomes;
iii. generates high quality research and engages in commercialisation of research of strategic importance to South Australia;
iv. is likely to be consistently highly ranked against universities globally
v. is attractive to and welcoming of international students; and
vi. has a modern governance framework consistent with high standards of fiduciary responsibility and understanding of the value of universities to the state’s economy and society and of the Australian and global higher education environment.
(d) Any measures by which the parliament and government can facilitate these outcomes in creating the Adelaide University; and
(e) Any other related matter.

report on 17 October 2023,
Loading files, this may take a moment...
Acknowledgement of Country

The Parliament of South Australia acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the traditional owners of this country throughout Australia, and their connection to land and community. We pay our respect to them and their cultures and to the Elders both past and present.