The Legislative Council is the Upper House of the Parliament of South Australia. Members of the Legislative Council (MLCs) are elected for a term of eight years, with half of the Legislative Council’s 22 seats declared vacant at each election.

Each MLC is elected to represent the whole state on a system of proportional representation. This system of voting allows a greater diversity of minor parties and independents to be elected to the Parliament. It also makes it difficult for any one party to control the Chamber.


Business of the Council




Standing Orders

Sessional Orders

Acknowledgement of Country

The Parliament of South Australia acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the traditional owners of this country throughout Australia, and their connection to land and community. We pay our respect to them and their cultures and to the Elders both past and present.