2022-23 River Murray Flood Event

Committee Details

Legislative Council
55th Parliament 03/05/2022 - Current
Taking Evidence and accepting submissions
Mr Anthony Beasley
Secretary to the Committee
Telephone - 08 8237 9490
Email - scmurrayflood@parliament.sa.gov.au
Secretary to the Committee
C/- Parliament House,
GPO Box 572, Adelaide 5001,

Committee Function

inquire into the 2022-23 River Murray flood event including the preparation, response and recovery, with particular consideration being given to:
(a) Roles and responsibilities of:
i. State Government and Federal Government agencies;
ii. Local government;
iii. Non-profit organisations;
iv. Public and private utilities;
(b) Review of communication between key stakeholders;
(c) River flow management and modelling;
(d) Effectiveness of mitigating infrastructure including but not limited to levy banks and stormwater;
(e) Review of flood response funding, its utilisation and effectiveness;
(f) Government (local, State and Federal) grant process, eligibility, and uptake;
(g) River restrictions methodology, communications, and operation;
(h) Impact of planning decisions on property inundation;
(i) Insurance industry response and responsibilities;
(j) Planning and mitigation for future emergency events; and
(k) Any other related matters.
Loading files, this may take a moment...
Acknowledgement of Country

The Parliament of South Australia acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the traditional owners of this country throughout Australia, and their connection to land and community. We pay our respect to them and their cultures and to the Elders both past and present.