Support and Mental Health Services for Police

Committee Details

Legislative Council
55th Parliament 03/05/2022 - Current
Mr Shannon Riggs
Secretary to the Committee
Telephone: (08) 8237 9568
Mr Shannon Riggs
Secretary to the Committee
GPO Box 572
Adelaide 5001

Committee Function

A Select Committee of the Legislative Council has been established to inquire into mental health services for Police with particular reference to:
(a) Exploring whether the services provided by the Employee Assistance Program and other mental health services offered to police, former police, and their families are sufficient;
(b) Determining whether an annual psychological review is sufficient for employees in roles where there is higher psychological demand;
(c) Assessing the Early Intervention Program to ensure its suitability for psychological injury;
(d) Determining whether additional mental health support for police officers and their families is required;
(e) Exploring strategies of boosting police morale to make sure police have the support they need to perform their duties;
(f) Exploring resourcing and recruitment within SAPOL;
(g) the prevalence, cause and effect of post traumatic stress disorder among serving and retired police officers and prevention strategies to mitigate risk;
(h) Consideration of legislative amendments to the Return to Work Act 2014:
(i) to prescribe that when a serving or former police officer is diagnosed with post traumatic stress disorder, it is presumed to have arisen from their employment in the absence of proof to the contrary;
(ii) the extent to which other first responders who deal directly with emergency situations when performing paid or voluntary work should be captured in the legislative amendments, including but not limited to ambulance officers, firefighters, nurses, medical practitioners, members of the SACFS and SASES, correctional services officers and train drivers; and
(i) Any other relevant matters.
Loading files, this may take a moment...
Acknowledgement of Country

The Parliament of South Australia acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the traditional owners of this country throughout Australia, and their connection to land and community. We pay our respect to them and their cultures and to the Elders both past and present.