Matters Relating to the Timber Industry in the Limestone Coast and Other Regions of South Australia

Committee Details

Legislative Council
55th Parliament 03/05/2022 - Current
Ms Emma Johnston
Secretary to the Committee
Telephone on (08) 8237 9339
Email at
Ms Emma Johnston
Secretary to the Committee
GPO Box 572
Adelaide 5001

Committee Function

A Select Committee of the Legislative Council has been established to inquire into and report on the exporting of wood fibre and other matters regarding the timber industry in the Limestone Coast and other regions of South Australia, with particular reference to:

(a) Whether the exporting of wood fibre is in compliance with the conditions of sale of the Radiata Pine forests in the Limestone Coast, sold by the previous State Labor Government;
(b) The volume of Radiata Pine log being exported from the Limestone Coast area and other regions by all growers;
(c) The economic benefit and employment opportunities that could be gained through additional wood fibre based industries should the current exported logs be made available for processing in South Australia;
(d) Options for increasing the availability of logs to South Australian processors;
(e) A review of water licensing laws applying to forest estates;
(f) Opportunities to strengthen the forest and timber products industries in the Limestone Coast and other regions of South Australia, and in particular:
i. Barriers to investment in timber resource and processing capacity;
ii. Opportunities to expand the plantation estate, including greater utilisation of farm forestry;
iii. Strategies available to timber processing businesses to secure long term timber supply;
iv. Strategies to grow domestic manufacturing;
v. Opportunities to maximise returns for timber processors from forest and timber residues;
(g) Policies in other States to constrain resource for specified markets;
(h) Environmental impacts of the timber industry;
(i) The promotion of the economic contribution of the forest and timber products industry to the South Australian community; and
(j) Any other related matters.
Loading files, this may take a moment...
Acknowledgement of Country

The Parliament of South Australia acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the traditional owners of this country throughout Australia, and their connection to land and community. We pay our respect to them and their cultures and to the Elders both past and present.