A Select Committee of the Legislative Council has been established to inquire into the 2022-23 River Murray flood event including the preparation, response and recovery, with particular consideration being given to:

(a)   Roles and responsibilities of:

i.     State Government and Federal Government agencies;
ii.    Local government;
iii.   Non-profit organisations;
iv.   Public and private utilities;

(b)   Review of communication between key stakeholders;

(c)   River flow management and modelling;

(d)  Effectiveness of mitigating infrastructure including but not limited to levy banks and stormwater;

(e)   Review of flood response funding, its utilisation and effectiveness;

(f)   Government (local, State and Federal) grant process, eligibility, and uptake;

(g)   River restrictions methodology, communications, and operation;

(h)   Impact of planning decisions on property inundation;

(i)    Insurance industry response and responsibilities;

(j)    Planning and mitigation for future emergency events; and

(k)   Any other related matters.


Any person or organisation wishing to make a written submission to the Committee, or register an interest in presenting oral evidence to the Committee is invited to do so by Friday, 10 November 2023. The Committee intends to hear evidence in Adelaide and at various River communities. Written submissions and expressions of interest should be addressed to the Secretary to the Committee, C/- Parliament House, GPO Box 572, Adelaide 5001, by e-mail at scmurrayflood@parliament.sa.gov.au For any queries or to discuss the submission due date, please contact the Secretary by telephone on
(08) 8237 9490 or as above.


Mr Anthony Beasley
Secretary to the Committee

Acknowledgement of Country

The Parliament of South Australia acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the traditional owners of this country throughout Australia, and their connection to land and community. We pay our respect to them and their cultures and to the Elders both past and present.